Eva Åkesson

vice-chancellor at University Management and Management Council, Vice-Chancellor

+4618-471 3310
Visiting address:
Segerstedthuset, Dag Hammarskjölds väg 7
752 37 Uppsala
Postal address:
Box 256
751 05 UPPSALA

Short presentation

Professor Eva Åkesson, Vice-Chancellor of Uppsala University from January 1, 2012.

Also available at

My courses


Eva Åkesson is a professor of chemical physics. She completed her undergraduate education in chemistry and her doctorate in physical chemistry at Umeå University, and did postdoctoral work at the University of Minnesota, USA. She was selected by the Swedish Research Council as senior researcher in the field of photochemical reaction mechanisms in 1996.

In 1996 Eva Åkesson joined the staff of Lund University, where she taught, conducted research and served as director of studies. From 2003 to 2008 she was Vice-Rector of Lund University, with special responsibility for undergraduate education and the Bologna Process. From 2009 to 2011 she was Deputy Vice-Chancellor of Lund University, with special responsibility for first and second cycle studies, quality assurance and enhancement, and related internationalisation issues.

Eva Åkesson has primarily pursued research in femtochemistry – a field that makes use of ultrafast spectroscopy to follow chemical reactions and dynamics on the timescale on which chemical bonds are formed and broken. She has studied isomerisations, dissociation reactions and electron transfers. Her research has also addressed energy conversion in artificial systems for solar cells. A special interest in her research has been the study of various ways in which the surroundings (solvents) can influence and change these reactions and dynamics.

Eva Åkesson has served on numerous boards, including the boards of CSN (the Central Board for Student Aid), Kristianstad University College, SI (the Swedish Institute) and the National Committee for Chemistry. She has served as titular member, secretary and deputy chair of the IUPAC Committee on Chemistry Education. She chaired the international expert panels for evaluating leadership and governance of education at Helsinki University in 2008 and Aalto School of Science in 2011. She is a member of the Council of the University of Tartu. She is currently vice-chair of the Southern African–Nordic Centre (SANORD) and will take over as chair in 2017. She is also the current chair of the Matariki network of universities. In 2005 she acquired ETP (Excellent Teaching Practitioner) status at the Faculty of Science, Lund University. In 2015 she was made an Honorary Doctor of the University of Edinburgh.


Please contact the directory administrator for the organization (department or similar) to correct possible errors in the information.