Organisation och personal

6 Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study (SCAS)

Founded in 1985, the Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study (SCAS) was the first institute of its kind in Northern Europe. It is a national scientific institution, chartered by the Government of Sweden as an institute for advanced study, mainly in the social and human sciences. The Collegium is a scholarly community of some thirty Fellows at any point in time. In order to be considered for a Fellowship scholars have to submit an application. (Please see For the joint European programme EURIAS, in which the Swedish Collegium participates, please see The review process for all Fellowship programmes is highly selective. Fellows-in-residence are free to pursue research of their own choosing. The Collegium is a free meeting place and a breeding zone of new ideas across boundaries of discipline, nation, and age.

The Fellows in the academic year 2013-14 come from a variety of universities and research institutions, namely University of California, Berkeley; Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg; Harvard University; Haverford College; University of Manchester; University of Missouri, Columbia; Peking University; Sapienza University of Rome; University of Tartu; Trinity College Dublin; Tsinghua University, Beijing; and from the Nordic countries the universities of Aarhus, Helsinki, Jyväskylä, Linköping, Lund, Oslo, Stockholm, and Tampere. Disciplines represented include Aesthetics, Anthropology, Archaeology, Art History, Chinese History and Language, Classical Languages, Comparative Literature, Cognitive Science, Environmental History, Ethnology and Folklore, History, History of Religion, Intellectual History, Medical Ethics, Medieval Studies, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Scandinavian Studies, and Sociology.

The Collegium is a national resource for Swedish universities and research institutions in the social and human sciences at large. However, it also maintains a long-term commitment in three broad areas, where even the small resources of an institute for advanced study may entail significant contributions to the national academic landscape as well as to international scholarly developments.

Scholarly Foci
Firstly, the Collegium seeks to strengthen the historical and global orientation of the social and human sciences. The development of the theory of multiple modernities is one result of this work, a re-examination of the idea of the Axial Age another one. Two of the recipients of the Holberg International Memorial Prize have been key collaborators of the Collegium.

Secondly, the Collegium is committed to the support of humanistic disciplines that are of crucial importance to an understanding of the cultural multiplicity of the world. The major programme of the Swedish Collegium in this field, the Bernhard Karlgren Programme, is supported by Riksbankens Jubileumsfond. It involves close cooperation with Professors Christoph Harbsmeier (Oslo) and Michael J. Puett (Harvard). It has a focus on the languages and civilizations of East and Central Asia, and draws on the unique conceptual scheme and database Thesaurus Linguae Sericae.

Thirdly, the Swedish Collegium is engaged in a long-term effort to promote cooperation between the economic and other human and social sciences. In this field it works with scholars in the borderline area between philosophy, economics and analytical branches of the social, political and behavioural sciences but also with economic historians. Key collaborators of the Collegium are Professors John Broome (Oxford), Martin van Gelderen (Göttingen), Peter Gärdenfors (Lund) and Wlodek Rabinowicz (Lund).

The Pro Futura Scientia Programme
In 1999, Riksbankens Jubileumsfond and the Swedish Collegium initiated the Pro Futura Scientia Programme, an elite programme for early-career scholars beyond the postdoctoral stage. Swedish universities - and since 2011 also universities in other Nordic countries - are invited to nominate up to four candidates to the programme, two of whom must come from another university in Sweden or abroad. On each occasion 10-15% of the nominees have been accepted. Up till now, thirty-two scholars have been admitted to the programme.

Successful candidates divide their time during a five-year period between their home universities and the Collegium. They also spend at least one year abroad at one of the Collegium’s sister institutes or an institute of a similar type. In the academic year of 2012-13 agreements were concluded concerning the reception of Pro Futura Fellows between the Swedish Collegium, Riksbankens Jubileumsfond and the following institutions: National Humanities Center; Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences, Stanford University; Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University; and Centre for Research in the Arts, Social Sciences, and Humanities, University of Cambridge. As of the academic year 2013-14 the University of Cambridge will also propose candidates to the Pro Futura Scientia Programme. The graduates of the programme have come to play an increasingly significant role in Swedish academic and cultural life.

Institutional Collaboration
The Collegium interacts with a large number of scholarly institutions in Sweden and abroad. Especially important is the collaboration with seven other leading institutes for advanced study within the so called SIAS group, of which the Collegium was a founding member in 1991: Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences, Stanford; Institute for Advanced Studies, Jerusalem; Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton; National Humanities Center, Research Triangle Park; Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities and Social Sciences, Wassenaar; Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard; Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin. The directors of these institutes meet annually and there is continuous interaction between the institutes. In addition, the Collegium maintains special links to other leading European institutes, in particular to those in Cambridge, Helsinki, Nantes, and Paris, but also to centres in Beijing, Delhi, and Stellenbosch.

Professor Björn Wittrock is Principal of the Collegium and a Permanent Fellow. Professor Barbro Klein has been Deputy Principal and is now Director Emerita. The Collegium has a national board consisting of representatives appointed at the suggestion of different Swedish universities. Professor Lars Magnusson is Chairman of the board. The Swedish Collegium benefits from contributions by four Non-resident Long-term Fellows, namely Professors Peter Gärdenfors (Lund), Hans Joas (Freiburg and Chicago), Michael J. Puett (Harvard), and Wlodek Rabinowicz (Lund).

The Collegium is located in the late eighteenth-century Linneanum and the adjacent late nineteenth-century Prefect’s Villa in the middle of the Botanic Garden in Uppsala.


Thunbergsvägen 2, 752 38 Uppsala
Thunbergsvägen 2, 752 38 Uppsala
Björn Wittrock 018-557085

Hitta hit

Thunbergsvägen 2, 752 38 Uppsala

Anställda och övriga verksamma